Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Super by Grant Smits

I wrote this 5 star review for Chic Lit Café. A great YA action/adventure.

Step into a world of action and adventure.  Move over ‘The Goonies’ for here comes James Bolt, brother to the famous Bolt who is a Super, unlike his brother James doesn’t have powers, but he does have brains!   

The story starts off running, and hardly slows down.  Gripping and fast-paced from the off-set, this is an exciting book that young adults will not want to put down.  James Bolt is a normal, which means he doesn’t have any super powers, which suits him just fine – thank you very much.  His older brother Derek, however, is a Super and a member of the elite and small numbered group of people.  To hold James for ransom a few people have kidnapped him, but he’s always rescued by his hero, his brother.  I instantly liked James’ character when he was so nonplussed by his kidnappers, sure in the knowledge that his brother would once again, save the day.  James has always admired Derek, but when all the attention at James sixteenth birthday is focused on his brother he allows just a little resentment to kick in.  Little did he know that very soon his brother would disappear.  Something happens in New York and people are killed.  Could the Supers really have done it?  Is his brother now a criminal?  Pulling James out of his shock is his best friend Rocky, who turns out to be a great side-kick as well as a loyal and trusted friend.  What I loved about this action-packed adventure is that it isn’t the super-powers that save the day.  It is James, a normal young lad, who proves that love of your family and friends and courage are all you need to conquer obstacles and become the hero.  The quest to find the Chintamani Stone and save his brother, takes James and Derek out of America in search of the lost city of Jalung Phodrang.  With no resources and the SIA chasing them across the world, the two friends find themselves in difficult situations.  A really great action-adventure which will be enjoyed by everyone! Grant Smits writing is clear and precise making it easy-to-read.  The pace is fabulously fast, perfect for teenagers, the characters extremely likeable and the plot clever.  Fans of Indiana Jones and The Goonies will love this.

Review warning: Before you rush off and buy any book that someone reviews you should read the free sample chapters provided on Amazon, this way you can decide for yourself if this book is your cup of tea or not.  Happy reading everyone!

This is a new indie-author, why not give him a boost and see if you like his book? It is on Kindle Unlimited so it can be read for free, unfortunately the kindle price is rather high at $6.99.

If you would like to know more about editorial reviews, please contact Chic Lit Cafe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s