Fantasy

Book Review ~ The Lightning Tree by Lene Fogelberg

I enjoyed this book so much, that I practically inhaled it!

 Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing

The blurb starts with a statement that I thought was quite bold, but did grab my attention – for fans of Stranger Things & A History of Wild Places.  I would have to say that it is probably unique enough not to be able to compare it with a particular book.  It is a young adult fantasy and it’s absolutely gripping.

Flora and Fauna are sisters, aged 16 & 13. Their strong bond is broken one day when Fauna falls out of a tree. A year passes… and then things start to happen.  The trees are whispering and nature is listening.  Heartbeat thuds when Flora and her mum wake up one morning to find a boy trapped in their Oak – dead.

Mysteries unfold one after the other in this gripping, fast-paced novel.  What would Flora do without her friend Carl (who turned up in the house next door a year ago)?  The plot is fast, mysterious, and exciting.  The characters are super likable.  It is written in a first-person narrative that I don’t normally like, but Fogelberg is a gifted author and this book is very easy to read.

The only thing I didn’t like is that it has a cliffhanger ending, we will definitely have to read the next book to find out what happens… and unfortunately, it isn’t out until 6th Sep 2022.

I highly recommend and I can’t wait for the next installment. Definitely a 5 star read.

$2.99 or £1.77 or FREE to read on KINDLE UNLIMITED. Only released in Mar 2022.

34 x Amazon US reviews with a 4.5 rating – at time of reviewing.

Review warning: Before you rush off and buy any book that someone reviews you should read the free sample chapters provided on Amazon, this way you can decide for yourself if this book is your cup of tea or not.  Happy reading everyone!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s