contemporary romance, Reviews

Book Review ~ A New Start at the Cornish Bakery by Sarah Hope

Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing For fans of short, sweet-romances with happy endings this is for you! Paige Walters has had a tough few years.  She broke up with her boyfriend two years ago because he was a cheat; unfortunately he had also been her boss, so she had no choice… Continue reading Book Review ~ A New Start at the Cornish Bakery by Sarah Hope

Reviews

Book Review – Parting the Veil by Paulette Kennedy

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing A gripping, Gothic, historical romance What I loved.  Kennedy’s penmanship is exquisite.  The pose flows with ease, the pace is perfect, characters dynamic and the plot… well rather gripping!  OK, I have to say that there isn’t a plot under the sun that hasn’t already been penned… Continue reading Book Review – Parting the Veil by Paulette Kennedy

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Chase by Josephine F Wentzel

True Life Crime - An amazing story The Chase is such a powerful book, I was in tears several times, and totally gripped by the unfolding saga. The author’s daughter, Krystal, was brutally murdered in 2016.  The bulk of this book is the author’s account of how she set about joining up with US Marshals… Continue reading Book Review – The Chase by Josephine F Wentzel

Amazon, Book Clubs, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Overdue Life of Amy Byler by Kelly Harms

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Delightful and often laugh-out-loud funny, this is a well written story that I would happily give 5 stars. From the first page I knew I was going to enjoy this book, and I wasn’t disappointed.  The author has a light ‘pen’ touch and a wicked sense of… Continue reading Book Review – The Overdue Life of Amy Byler by Kelly Harms

Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review ~ The Concret Vineyard by Cam Lang

The Concrete Vineyard is a superb, slow-burning cozy, murder/mystery.  Drenched in historical memorabilia and modern-day quandaries, this is a ‘who-dun-it’ with substance.    I’ve got to start by saying I applaud the author for cleverly entwining a really great murder/mystery with the world of planning corruption and municipal politics.  The two things are women together… Continue reading Book Review ~ The Concret Vineyard by Cam Lang

Inspirational Story, Reviews

Book Review ~ It All Comes Back to You by Beth Duke

With all my different assignments, including editorial reviews, I don't get much time to read for pleasure. So, when I do, I really want it to be a great book. It All Comes Back to You, is one such book, and I'm so glad I found it. This book has given me serious writer’s envy! … Continue reading Book Review ~ It All Comes Back to You by Beth Duke

Fantasy, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Lost Girl by Chanda Hahn

A simply brilliant adaptation (modernization) of Peter Pan, 5 stars from me. Did you ever wonder what happened to Wendy, Peter, Tinkerbell and the Lost Boys and how they might fit in today’s world? This is a thoroughly modern extension to the beloved story of Peter Pan.  I often think ‘I wish authors would leave… Continue reading Book Review – Lost Girl by Chanda Hahn

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

I can understand how this book has 30,373 reviews on Amazon US with 4.3 star rating. It is a whodunnit thriller like I've never read before. I read through some reviews and was quite surprised that not everyone enjoyed it.  I was totally gripped.  There is something so real and so frightening to think that… Continue reading Book Review – The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Amazon, Book Clubs, Fantasy, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Inspired by a Russian fairy tale, The Bear & the Nightingale is a stunningly atmospheric story for lovers of myths and legends. Vasya is wild and wilful and her friends are the spirits.  In the Northern parts of darkest Russia, where the winters are long and cruel, and the summers short and full of endless… Continue reading Book Review – The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Amazon, Book Clubs, Fantasy, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review ~ Spellbreaker by Charlie N Holmberg

From Wallstreet Journal & Amazon bestselling author Charlie N Holmberg, comes a great book of Victorian adventure and magic! I really enjoyed this book; it’s very well-written with superb pace, wonderful characters and a great plot.  I loved the delicate details that were just enough to firmly put you in Victorian London without bogging down… Continue reading Book Review ~ Spellbreaker by Charlie N Holmberg

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review ~ They Call me Crazy by Kelly Stone Gamble

This is a USA Today Bestselling book. Cassie is crazy, isn’t she?  She’s also killed her philandering husband, hasn’t she? Hot diggity but I loved this book! From page 1 to the end I simply couldn’t put it down.  It is by far the best book I’ve read in 2020! Set in Kansas there is… Continue reading Book Review ~ They Call me Crazy by Kelly Stone Gamble

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Reviews

Book Review – In the Room with Three Doors by RJ Askew

An easy, very enjoyable, poetical tale. 25 with their whole lives ahead of them, what will the three love-birds do with their triangle? Every now and again we come across a book that stands alone, this is one of them. With a soft lilt the author invites you into a modern day fable. Through the… Continue reading Book Review – In the Room with Three Doors by RJ Askew

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – High Heels & Mistletoe by C A King

Carol Ann King is fast becoming one of my all-time favorite indie authors for great novellas. High Heels & Mistletoe is an absolute gem of a Christmas Romance.  Julietta Romero is a bit of a Christmas Grinch with a particular intolerance towards mistletoe.  She wants nothing more than to pack her bags and jump on… Continue reading Book Review – High Heels & Mistletoe by C A King

Amazon, Book Clubs, BooksGoSocial, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Find Your Joy by Rosie Mankes

I wrote this 5 star review for Books Go Social Inspiring and uplifting, Find Your Joy is a truly encouraging memoir.  Learn how Rosie moves from survivor to thriver, in this positive journal-style autobiography. Rosie’s own trials are laid out in short snappy chapters, which is great for dipping in and out.  Her writing style… Continue reading Book Review – Find Your Joy by Rosie Mankes

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Last of the Moon Girls by Barbara Davis

They don’t call themselves witches… they are simply the Moon girls.  Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Now and then I come across a book I just love.  The Last of the Moon Girls is one of them.  Not only is it a fascinating story, but it is written so well, it’s like… Continue reading Book Review – The Last of the Moon Girls by Barbara Davis

Amazon, Angels and Demons, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Shining by Stephen King

As part of my research for Hope in Blackshaw Moor, which is a Romance-Thriller, I decided to do a little light reading… and dived into Stephen King’s 1977 The Shining! Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing I am not a fan of horror or anything bloody or gory, so I planned to ‘skim-read’… Continue reading Book Review – The Shining by Stephen King

Amazon, Book Clubs, Epic Fantasy, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Reviews

Book Review – On Twilight’s Wings by Ariel Paiement

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Blurb She is the key to everything.Until a few months ago, Cat's only worries were about her foster parents and whether she'll be shipped off to another boarding school over the summer. Dealing with a painful past and a friendless existence were at the top of her… Continue reading Book Review – On Twilight’s Wings by Ariel Paiement

Amazon, Book Clubs, Christian Fiction, Christian Fiction, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Marriage and Ministry by Amanda Kai

For fans of Jane Austen, Marriage & Ministry by Amanda Kai is a must read. The author excels in making her writing style feel like a natural flow-on from Austen's beautiful book Pride & Prejudice. Did you ever wonder what married life was like for Charlotte and William? Well wonder no more. Amanda Kai has… Continue reading Book Review – Marriage and Ministry by Amanda Kai

Angels and Demons, Book Clubs, Christian Fiction, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Reviews

Book Review – From Witchcraft to Christ by Doreen Irvine

Wow - what a book! I wasn't expecting to be so emotional or brought to tears so many times as I was.  Doreen recounts her life story in this book in a very matter-of-fact way, despite having a very dramatic life she tells her story plainly and simply, in easy to read and easy to… Continue reading Book Review – From Witchcraft to Christ by Doreen Irvine

Angels and Demons, Book Clubs, Christian Fiction, Christian Fiction, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – This Present Darkness by Frank Peretti

In research for my next novel I selected 10 books to read, ‘This Present Darkness’ was book no 2 on this list. Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Well, wow, what can I say?  I certainly hope my next book ‘Hope in Blackshaw Moor’ turns out to be a page-turner like this book… Continue reading Book Review – This Present Darkness by Frank Peretti

Amazon, Book Clubs, Fairies, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – In For A Spell by Sharon Clare

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Magical, enchanting, romantic, heartwarming... just a few words to describe this lovely book. Ever since I was little I have loved fairy tales. The magic, the mystery, the happy-ever-after. In For A Spell is definitely an adult (quite adult in one particular section!) fairy tale - and… Continue reading Book Review – In For A Spell by Sharon Clare

Amazon, Book Clubs, Epic Fantasy, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Darkspire Reaches by CN Lesley

Ok, I admit it, I'm a fantasy fan through and through. What I'm an even bigger fan of is, fantasy books that are both gripping and easy to read. This means that, Darkspire Reaches has to go onto my list of really enjoyable fantasy books. Raven is a wonderful heroine, a witch, who from the… Continue reading Book Review – Darkspire Reaches by CN Lesley

Amazon, Book Clubs, BooksGoSocial, Epic Fantasy, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Reviews, World Building

Book Review – The Crimson Deathbringer by Sean Robins

Do you think the Akakies will visit us soon? I do love a good joke. Well wow, you would not believe that this was Sean Robins first book! At the end when I read his short bio and discovered he's a teacher, that made sense - because the book, especially for a first novel, is… Continue reading Book Review – The Crimson Deathbringer by Sean Robins

Amazon, Book Clubs, BooksGoSocial, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Promotion Values, Reviews, the value of promoting your book

Amazon kdp Select & advertising – is it worth it?

   Yes! Well in my experience anyway, and I've been an indie author for three years now.  In fact yesterday I removed some of my books from various other sites - from which I had zero sales, and put my books back onto kindle select. The reason? Well to make money of course.  The main reason… Continue reading Amazon kdp Select & advertising – is it worth it?