Reviews for Grace in Mombasa

Grace in Mombasa 1 (1)

Nikki

5 out of 5 stars A charming and well-written memoir …

January 1, 2019  Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

I’ve always been fond of memoirs and true stories of heroism, courage, and good deeds. The story of Grace in Mombasa is a lovely and heartbreaking tale that follows one young woman’s life and the sorrows, losses, and triumphs she endures during the forties, fifties, and up through the nineties. I loved her quiet but firm resolve to seek her own way and try new things – giving herself over to faith and living a humble but fulfilling life. This is a wonderful read, made even more fascinating by all of the historical data, pictures, and information included during these eras.

A fiction novel that will appeal to those who enjoy these types of stories. Well-written and charming from start to finish.

Characters: 5/5
Plot: 5/5
Word Building: 5/5
Story Flow: 5/5

Picky Bitches OVERALL SCORE: 5/5

 

Kindle Customer

5 out of 5 stars Wow

December 30, 2018  Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

I haven’t felt so emotional and tied to a book this good in awhile. The story of Grace was inspiring and a beautiful story about faith and purpose. The author did an amazing job capturing the struggle Christians have with their faith when horrible things happen that directly impact them or injustice is done. I loved every bit of this story and suggest everyone pick this book up and read it! You won’t be

disappointed. It’s truly amazing!

 

Camella Wade

5 out of 5 stars Real and inspirational!

December 26, 2018   Format: Kindle Edition

I wasn’t even sure what drew me to read ‘Grace’ except that I wanted to support a fellow author from Facebook. Boy, am I glad I did! I was immediately and intimately caught up between the pages as I beamed from the inside with every high and sobbed with every low as if each were my own experience. I urge any and everyone to not only read this book, but to listen to it. Praise be to God and many prayers for this book and its message to spread like wildfire.

 

J Lynch

5 out of 5 stars An inspiring historical novel!

December 17, 2018   Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

I’ve never been one for historical novels — but something about Grace in Mombasa snagged my attention. Probably because much of it is set in a small English town during World War II and, as such, it reminded me of Agatha Christie’s work. Whatever the reason, I’m glad I read this!

TN Traynor’s book is split into two parts: Grace’s life as a young woman in England, then after she moves to Mombasa in Kenya. Meticulously researched and detailed, Ms. Traynor uses characters, dialects, and historic references to really bring the reader into her book. The illustrations and photos only added to the richness of the history.

Grace Clifton, as a widowed vicar’s daughter, has a strong relationship with God from the very start. That relationship — where it struggled after all of her losses and was renewed vigorously after her move to Mombasa — is the focal point on the novel. She is a devout Christian who dedicates her life to God’s work, to the point that many of the “natives” of Kenya refer to her as Mrs. God.

I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys rich historical novels, especially when they feature heavily on Christianity and faith. You will not be disappointed!

 

Book Lover

4 out of 5 stars A lovely book

December 7, 2018   Format: Kindle Edition

This is a feel good story spanning world events such as World War 1 and 2 and follows the lives of Grace, Richard, William and many other characters. It has elements of light and dark in it but overall is a story that is infectious and makes you want to keep reading. The author draws you into their lives and you want to know what is going to happen to them. This is a good book, if you want a “feel good” read this is a great choice.

 

Marina Osipova

5 out of 5 stars A book that will capture your heart

December 6, 2018   Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

First, the gorgeous cover attracted my attention, then the fact that the story was based on the real events in the life of a real person. The main character, Grace, is very engaging, and I was moved and immersed into her world immediately, enjoying the author’s beautiful, poetic language. Tracy Traynor skillfully entwined the sense of time and place into the narrative, be it in England or Kenya, even the subject of women’s rights is unobtrusively touched on. The story is not without its share the horrific or sad incidences. Given the time period and setting, such was to be expected. But there are so many glorious moments in Grace’s life!
The last part of the book was especially touching. The story itself has the ability to heal heart and soul.
I highly recommend this incredible book.

 

It’sJess

5 out of 5 stars I loved this sweet novel

December 4, 2018   Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

I was moved to tears within the first few pages of this book and that wasn’t the last time. Grace in Mombasa is a moving story about faith, hope and the courage to follow your heart. Grace’s devotion to her faith is beautiful and something you can appreciate even if you’re not a Christian. The fact that it was based on true events gave an extra gravity to everything that happened, as I read along. I loved this sweet novel and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an epic and touching story.

 

Heather

5 out of 5 stars Beautiful

December 3, 2018   Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Wow.
I will admit this isn’t a book I would typically read, but the fact it was inspired by true events drew me in—and I was not disappointed! I couldn’t put it down! Full of love and loss, with such moments of complete spiritual faith, this story is truly inspirational. There is such accuracy in the writing of wartime, England and such truth in the loss of one’s faith after experiencing so much grief. You can feel the author’s passion and heart as you read this story. What an absolutely lovely read. Highly recommend.

 

R3

5 out of 5 stars Grace in Mombasa

December 3, 2018   Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

A beautiful and touching story about one woman’s belief in God. It shows the ups and downs of her belief.

She was doomed to die as an infant, yet she survives. From this point onward, you know she’s been chosen by God to do something important in her life. Grace begins to lose a little of her childlike innocence in her belief in God when her prayers to end the war and killing go unanswered, but still a feeling inside, a incident where she felt the hand of God, her kept her “glued to her faith.” One loss too many, however, sends her over the edge, and she pushes God away, denying his existence–at least with her mind.

This book shows the struggles Christians make, especially in times of adversity. It demonstrates we don’t have all the answers. For who can truly know the mind of God or what he has in store for us? Faith has to be something that’s in your heart, like knowing wrong from right.

A wonderful tale, and well worth the read.

 

Kindle Customer

5 out of 5 stars Inspirational

December 1, 2018   Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

It’s been a long time since I read a book with such an internally beautiful heroine. From the moment we meet her, at her birth, the author gives us clues of the special kind of person Grace will grow to be. While this is her story, it is also the story the people her life touched and a call to continue touching lives with God’s grace. What I think is really impressive is that by the actions and results we see the reality of life, the dark dirty parts of the world with injustice and heartbreak and yet there is an underlying sense of hope and strength. Grace, while not perfect, even having moments where her faith is tested beyond strain, is an example of the human soul and perseverance. After the war when Grace’s life takes a different path we are shown a part of the world many of us can’t imagine. The hardships there are simply unfathomable to most here. I cried at several places in my reading for them, for Grace, for a world where we can make difference. It is easy for me to recommend this profound story, and it makes me happy in my heart to know that each purchase helps a worthy cause.

 

Genevieve Raas

5 out of 5 stars Riveting and Inspiring!

November 30, 2018   Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Beautiful, sweeping novel. Wow! Tracy Traynor has a way of bringing out such depth and life in her writing.

We start in England on the cusp of WWII, then find ourselves following Grace to Kenya. The settings are truly vibrant, and the characters resonating.

The writing is strong and tight, and I often found myself forgetting I was reading at all as the story just took over my mind.

This is a gorgeously told historical novel, and the research that must have gone into bringing this story to life is astounding. Well done to the author!

Riveting and inspiring, I highly recommend “Grace in Mombasa.” Five stars!

 

L.A.

5 out of 5 stars Captivating Story

November 29, 2018   Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

This is truly a captivating story, the fact that this is inspired by a true-life story makes it even more so. It reminded me of the movie Australia, with Grace in the place of Nicole Kidman. The book is about the genuine heartfelt life story of a Vicar’s daughter as life takes her from the horrors and losses of the WW2 to the sufferings in Kenya. She faces friendships, love, loss and pain, becoming stronger with each challenge in her life. It is her good heart and faith that carries her through the hardships of life and allows her to inspire people around her. This is not a story you can put down.

 

Billie. K.

5 out of 5 stars A touching, feel good story

November 26, 2018   Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

This is one of the most beautiful stories I’ve read in a long time. The story follows a girl named Grace along her life’s journey as the daughter of a Vicar during WWII and beyond to where she finally ends up. I would go into more details about the story but I don’t want to add any spoilers. Once I started reading I was quite captivated and I devoured this in one weekend. I highly recommend this!

2 people found this helpful

 

Amy Koller

3 out of 5 stars Inspiring Read

January 9, 2019   Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

“Grace in Mombasa” is a history-based tale of a young widow who sets her mind to travelling to Kenya from England following the Second World War upon experiencing a tremendous amount of difficulties and hardships over the past few years in her life. Grace Clifton has an unshakeable belief in the fact that regardless of what life throws her way, she will be guided through with grace and dignity by relying on her God. This book is the story of overcoming pain and strife against all odds, and leaning upon God to get you through it all, and find peace and happiness in the end. This is a wonderful and inspiring read for all to enjoy.

 

Grady Harp Top Contributor: Children’s Books  HALL OF FAME TOP 100 REVIEWER

5 out of 5 stars ‘The biggest lesson I learnt whilst in Mombasa, is that you can’t out give God.’

January 9, 2019   Format: Kindle Edition

British author T (Tracy) Traynor struggled with dyslexia as a child but eventually overcame her handicap and proceeded to pursue her dream as an author of magical tales ‘with the empowerment of ‘spell-check’ and with the help of friends.’ As she states in her bio, ‘At the age of 40, she became a single mom and with four sons to look after she decided to go back to college. She is now a successful Finance Manager and has turned her life around. Her underlying message – to believe in yourself and overcome the past. Her biggest dream is that people who struggle to read, like herself, will be able to pick up this easy-to-read book and forget about their problems for a while as they escape in this world she has created. She adds, ‘I became a Christian in 1990, at the age of thirty, whilst living in Kenya. It was a time of great learning and excitement for me as I gave myself fully to the Lord and became extremely hungry for his Word.’

Tracy writes history well, opening her book with the roots of her story in 1912 – “You need to prepare yourself, if she survives the night it will only be by the grace of God.” The doctor stood tall and straight, he appeared aloof and certainly could have given the news in a gentler fashion, but he was exhausted and barely had the energy to stand, let alone offer words of solace and compassion. His working day started over twelve hours before and the midwife should not have called him, because there was nothing he could have done for the poor woman, and she surely would have known that. The gentleman to whom he spoke so harshly appeared crushed, and with good cause, for the master joiner and his son had recently carried out the man’s dead wife and now he’d been given the news that his new-born daughter was knocking on death’s door. Unable to offer comfort, the doctor picked up his medical bag and hastened out of the once quaint bedroom. With black-timber ceiling beams and whitewashed walls, and with a pretty, woolen carpet in the middle of the room, this had been a tranquil bedroom, but now it was tarnished with blood and grief. A sad affair to be sure. He inclined his head towards the weary midwife on the stairs as she headed back up to help the vicar care for his dying child. “Good night, Mrs Brown.” “Good night, Doctor.” Elsa stood in the bedroom doorway for a moment as the doctor made his own way out of the house. Her old, lined face was heavy with sadness as she stared at the back of the vicar’s head. He’d hardly moved since his wife had passed and she imagined his knees must be hurting something awful. His hands, that had held Annie’s hand until she’d been taken away, were now clasped so tightly his knuckles had turned white. Praying, and apparently with no answer. She needed to get him downstairs so she could strip the bed before the smell took an irremovable hold. “Eclampsia be a God-awful thing,” she said without thinking. He looked at her blankly. “Oh,” she said, clasping her hand over her mouth. “I be awfully remorseful at the utterance that falls out of my big stupid mouth, Vicar.” “It’s all right, Mrs Brown. I agree with you, tis a God-awful thing.” All at once, the realisation that God hadn’t stepped in to save his Annie hit him like the thud of a bullet. The pain in his chest crushed him and he moaned, dropping his head onto the bed, finally giving way to an inconsolable flood of tears. Elsa had been a midwife for the last twenty years and was well used to the deaths of both mothers and infants, but somehow, looking at the vicar, it seemed worse, for surely he must feel as if his God had let him down?’ The birth of Grace – the inspiration behind Moira Smith.

The book is lengthy but Tracy’s synopsis condenses the story well – ‘Inspired by true events. Grace in Mombasa is an intriguing historical saga of betrayal and loss, romance and heartbreak, and one woman’s journey in faith. From the day she was born, Grace Clifton has navigated a life of loss and heartbreak, without a mother to guide her and through the ravages of two World Wars. With England in the midst of a Second World War, Grace experiences the excitement of love and romance, but all too soon, it turns to heartbreak. Through it all, Grace is sustained by her unwavering faith in God, but when all she holds dear is ripped away from her, Grace is left devastated and doubting everything she’s ever believed in. As the world slowly recovers from war, Grace too begins the process of healing from bitterness and the deep wounds inflicted by life. However, her steadfastness to God is lost and she determines never to pray again. When an unexpected opportunity comes up in Kenya, Grace seizes the chance to escape the memories, hoping to find a purpose and build a new life for herself. In the city of Mombasa, Grace soon begins to realise she can’t ever distance herself from life’s complications, but if she’s prepared to open her heart, maybe her shattered faith will once more bring her hope, love and the healing that she desperately needs. Grace in Mombasa is a story about a woman with amazing faith that is shattered when her life falls apart, but will God simply let her go?’

We have a giant in our midst – a dream spinner and talisman creator who is most assuredly poised for a successful career as an important author. Grady Harp, January 19

http://www.sanfranciscoreviewofbooks.com/2019/01/book-review-grace-in-mombasa-inspired.html

 

Kat Denning

4 out of 5 stars Inspirational Christian Historical Story

January 9, 2019  Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

This tale follows Grace Clifton, the widowed daughter of a vicar, who moves to Kenya. This is very much a religious/spiritual story which is focused on Grace’s mission work. However, I really enjoyed the historical aspects of the tale, which focused on the events in Kenya post WWII, such as the Mau Mau Uprising against British rule. What I liked about Grace is that she was an imperfect woman with her own doubts and concerns. I liked that while this story was very religious (not my thing), it wasn’t too pushy or anti-Native (as many missionary tales are).

To everyone who took the time and effort to leave me a review, I just want to say…   

k2nu9q-bouquet-transparent-picture          Thank you very much.

 

 

Why not buy a copy for yourself and see what kind of review you would leave?