Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review ~ The Concret Vineyard by Cam Lang

The Concrete Vineyard is a superb, slow-burning cozy, murder/mystery.  Drenched in historical memorabilia and modern-day quandaries, this is a ‘who-dun-it’ with substance.    I’ve got to start by saying I applaud the author for cleverly entwining a really great murder/mystery with the world of planning corruption and municipal politics.  The two things are women together… Continue reading Book Review ~ The Concret Vineyard by Cam Lang

Inspirational Story, Reviews

Book Review ~ It All Comes Back to You by Beth Duke

With all my different assignments, including editorial reviews, I don't get much time to read for pleasure. So, when I do, I really want it to be a great book. It All Comes Back to You, is one such book, and I'm so glad I found it. This book has given me serious writer’s envy! … Continue reading Book Review ~ It All Comes Back to You by Beth Duke

Amazon, Book Clubs, Christian Fiction, Goodreads

Book Review – Cross-Country Christmas by Laurie Lewis

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Cross-Country Christmas is one of the loveliest Contemporary Christian Romance novels I’ve ever read!  For readers who enjoy wholesome, sweet romances with a bit of grit and complex characters this is a perfect read. There is always more to a person than what you see, never was… Continue reading Book Review – Cross-Country Christmas by Laurie Lewis

Amazon, Book Clubs, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Food Fight! by Thea Lambert

Looking for a perfect, feel-good, romantic comedy? Then look no further! This book was made for relaxing holiday reads, but if you’re not traveling anywhere, still buy it because it’s a superb, swoon-worthy, enemies-to-lovers’ romance! A definite 5 stars from me! Food Fight has everything in it to make it a Bestseller.  The setting of… Continue reading Book Review – Food Fight! by Thea Lambert

Fantasy, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Lost Girl by Chanda Hahn

A simply brilliant adaptation (modernization) of Peter Pan, 5 stars from me. Did you ever wonder what happened to Wendy, Peter, Tinkerbell and the Lost Boys and how they might fit in today’s world? This is a thoroughly modern extension to the beloved story of Peter Pan.  I often think ‘I wish authors would leave… Continue reading Book Review – Lost Girl by Chanda Hahn

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

I can understand how this book has 30,373 reviews on Amazon US with 4.3 star rating. It is a whodunnit thriller like I've never read before. I read through some reviews and was quite surprised that not everyone enjoyed it.  I was totally gripped.  There is something so real and so frightening to think that… Continue reading Book Review – The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Amazon, Book Clubs, BooksGoSocial, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Find Your Joy by Rosie Mankes

I wrote this 5 star review for Books Go Social Inspiring and uplifting, Find Your Joy is a truly encouraging memoir.  Learn how Rosie moves from survivor to thriver, in this positive journal-style autobiography. Rosie’s own trials are laid out in short snappy chapters, which is great for dipping in and out.  Her writing style… Continue reading Book Review – Find Your Joy by Rosie Mankes

Amazon, Angels and Demons, Fantasy, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Year One by Nora Roberts

Shown under fair act for critiquing In my quest to continually better my writing skills, I devour books.  Picking up bestsellers I’m searching for their magical ingredients – what makes this book a New York Times bestseller?  Is it the characters, plot or writing style? The book I have just turned the last page of… Continue reading Book Review – Year One by Nora Roberts

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Last of the Moon Girls by Barbara Davis

They don’t call themselves witches… they are simply the Moon girls.  Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Now and then I come across a book I just love.  The Last of the Moon Girls is one of them.  Not only is it a fascinating story, but it is written so well, it’s like… Continue reading Book Review – The Last of the Moon Girls by Barbara Davis

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books

Book Review – Deadbreak by Jorge Sanchez

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Move over Rick Grimes, there’s a new lovable, apocalyptic zombie killing dude in town!  Jeremiah Reid is on a single-minded mission to find his daughter, hopefully she’s safe on Hawaii, but he doesn’t know for sure.  By his side is his steadfast friend, Joe the 4th who… Continue reading Book Review – Deadbreak by Jorge Sanchez

Born to Be

Book Review – Oil & Water by Lara Ann Dominick

I wrote this 5 star review for Chic Lit Café A spellbindingly scrumptious paranormal love story, Oil and Water is slick, sophisticated and gritty.  A real Vampire masterpiece! Normally, I like to start with the characters but… the plot – wow, I loved it!  The twist wasn’t obvious and when I saw it coming, I… Continue reading Book Review – Oil & Water by Lara Ann Dominick

Amazon, Book Clubs, Indie-Authors, Reviews

Book Review – Best Foot Forward by Bea Stevens

I wrote this review for Chick Lit Café – Check out their site for reviews & book marketing. Imagine Bridget Jones pretending to be Miss Marple, while working at Fawlty Towers and you have a good idea of what you can expect from this totally fun romantic comedy come cozy mystery by Bea Stevens.    Liberty Lawrence… Continue reading Book Review – Best Foot Forward by Bea Stevens

Book Clubs, Christian Fiction, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Eating the Forbidden Fruit by Roland Page

I wrote this review for Chick Lit Café – Check out their site for reviews & book marketing. Sold our souls for greed - made mistakes without learning - death clears our vision (reminding us that life has a time limit).  These are some of things we encounter in Eating the Forbidden Fruit.  Although this… Continue reading Book Review – Eating the Forbidden Fruit by Roland Page

Amazon, Book Clubs, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Line Between by Tosca Lee

I wrote this review for Chick Lit Café. Check out their site for book marketing and great reviews! The Line Between is an exciting, gripping thriller you won’t be able to put down!  Tosca Lee has now been firmly added to my must-read list, and this book sits with pride on my bookshelf.  Shown under… Continue reading Book Review – The Line Between by Tosca Lee

Amazon, Book Clubs, Epic Fantasy, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Reviews

Book Review – On Twilight’s Wings by Ariel Paiement

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Blurb She is the key to everything.Until a few months ago, Cat's only worries were about her foster parents and whether she'll be shipped off to another boarding school over the summer. Dealing with a painful past and a friendless existence were at the top of her… Continue reading Book Review – On Twilight’s Wings by Ariel Paiement

Amazon, Book Clubs, Christian Fiction, Christian Fiction, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Marriage and Ministry by Amanda Kai

For fans of Jane Austen, Marriage & Ministry by Amanda Kai is a must read. The author excels in making her writing style feel like a natural flow-on from Austen's beautiful book Pride & Prejudice. Did you ever wonder what married life was like for Charlotte and William? Well wonder no more. Amanda Kai has… Continue reading Book Review – Marriage and Ministry by Amanda Kai

Angels and Demons, Book Clubs, Christian Fiction, Christian Fiction, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – This Present Darkness by Frank Peretti

In research for my next novel I selected 10 books to read, ‘This Present Darkness’ was book no 2 on this list. Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Well, wow, what can I say?  I certainly hope my next book ‘Hope in Blackshaw Moor’ turns out to be a page-turner like this book… Continue reading Book Review – This Present Darkness by Frank Peretti

Amazon, Book Clubs, Fairies, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – In For A Spell by Sharon Clare

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Magical, enchanting, romantic, heartwarming... just a few words to describe this lovely book. Ever since I was little I have loved fairy tales. The magic, the mystery, the happy-ever-after. In For A Spell is definitely an adult (quite adult in one particular section!) fairy tale - and… Continue reading Book Review – In For A Spell by Sharon Clare

Amazon, Book Clubs, BooksGoSocial, Epic Fantasy, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Reviews, World Building

Book Review – The Crimson Deathbringer by Sean Robins

Do you think the Akakies will visit us soon? I do love a good joke. Well wow, you would not believe that this was Sean Robins first book! At the end when I read his short bio and discovered he's a teacher, that made sense - because the book, especially for a first novel, is… Continue reading Book Review – The Crimson Deathbringer by Sean Robins

Born to Be

Revival Novels ~ Two Book Reviews

During my research on the Welsh revival of 1904/1905 I came across two novels. Queen of the Rushes by Allen Raine &The Withered Root by Rhys Davies How I enjoyed reading these books and if I wasn’t a Christian I would quite happily have read them and put them down and thought no more of… Continue reading Revival Novels ~ Two Book Reviews

Uncategorized

Book Review: Write Treatments to Sell by Ken Atchity

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing I seem to be reading such a lot at the moment, I thought I would start putting my reviews on here. So here we go... first one.  Treatments that Sell by Ken Atchity & Chi-Li Wong This is is a very thorough book, guiding you through the… Continue reading Book Review: Write Treatments to Sell by Ken Atchity