Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books

Book Review ~ The Linchpin Writer by John M Fox

When I was first asked to review this book I turned it down, I’ve been too busy, plus it’s a book on writing a novel, and I’ve already got 13 books on Amazon. However, when I was asked the second time, I thought why not? Although I’ve got books out there and more on the… Continue reading Book Review ~ The Linchpin Writer by John M Fox

Christian Fiction, contemporary romance

Book Review ~ Beach Rental by Grace Greene

Well, you can tell I’m on holiday; I’ve just finished 2 books in 3 days, a record for me! 5 out of 5 stars A beautiful, moving Christian Romance Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Have tissues ready, the middle of the book is an emotional rollercoaster, and so is the happy ending!… Continue reading Book Review ~ Beach Rental by Grace Greene

Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review ~ Altered by Jacqueline Brown

5 out of 5 stars A gripping YA dystopian novel Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Azalea Rose is no different from all the other gestates. Even though she’s been gifted a name by Mr. Northup, she’s still only a slave. She exists for one reason – to serve. We never find out… Continue reading Book Review ~ Altered by Jacqueline Brown

Indie-Authors, Reviews

Book Review ~ And Breathe by Leonora Muriel

5 out of 5 stars A character-driven classic - amazing! Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Laeticia - wounded emotionally by a cheating husband and from being raped. A mountain of injustice ferments inside her.Ivan - robbed of his company by his best friend. Imploding at the loss of control.Francis - a lover… Continue reading Book Review ~ And Breathe by Leonora Muriel

Reviews

Book Review ~ The Catch by T.M. Logan

(Part of the blurb) From the Sunday Times bestselling author of Richard & Judy Book Club pick and NETFLIX drama THE HOLIDAY, comes the perfect page-turning thriller. He caught me watching, and our eyes met. That was when it hit me.There was something not quite right about my daughter's new boyfriend . . . Image shown under the… Continue reading Book Review ~ The Catch by T.M. Logan

Fantasy

Book Review ~ The Lightning Tree by Lene Fogelberg

I enjoyed this book so much, that I practically inhaled it!  Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing The blurb starts with a statement that I thought was quite bold, but did grab my attention – for fans of Stranger Things & A History of Wild Places.  I would have to say that… Continue reading Book Review ~ The Lightning Tree by Lene Fogelberg

contemporary romance, Reviews

Book Review ~ A New Start at the Cornish Bakery by Sarah Hope

Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing For fans of short, sweet-romances with happy endings this is for you! Paige Walters has had a tough few years.  She broke up with her boyfriend two years ago because he was a cheat; unfortunately he had also been her boss, so she had no choice… Continue reading Book Review ~ A New Start at the Cornish Bakery by Sarah Hope

Amazon, Book Clubs, Fantasy

Book Review – Dance with the Fae Prince by Elise Kova

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Likes The stunning book cover, by Marcela Medeiros, was what drew me to this book.  It portrays both fantasy and romance and is a perfect representation of the story inside. I read so many books these days that I get excited when I find one that I… Continue reading Book Review – Dance with the Fae Prince by Elise Kova

Reviews

Book Review – Parting the Veil by Paulette Kennedy

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing A gripping, Gothic, historical romance What I loved.  Kennedy’s penmanship is exquisite.  The pose flows with ease, the pace is perfect, characters dynamic and the plot… well rather gripping!  OK, I have to say that there isn’t a plot under the sun that hasn’t already been penned… Continue reading Book Review – Parting the Veil by Paulette Kennedy

Amazon, Book Clubs, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books

Book Review – Christmas Cake Day by Juliet Brilee

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing A small town, second chance at love, festive read. If you want to curl up on the sofa and completely switch off for a few hours, then this is the Christmas read for you!  It’s light, extremely easy to read, and it’s a festive feel-good book too!… Continue reading Book Review – Christmas Cake Day by Juliet Brilee

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Chase by Josephine F Wentzel

True Life Crime - An amazing story The Chase is such a powerful book, I was in tears several times, and totally gripped by the unfolding saga. The author’s daughter, Krystal, was brutally murdered in 2016.  The bulk of this book is the author’s account of how she set about joining up with US Marshals… Continue reading Book Review – The Chase by Josephine F Wentzel

Amazon, Book Clubs, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Overdue Life of Amy Byler by Kelly Harms

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Delightful and often laugh-out-loud funny, this is a well written story that I would happily give 5 stars. From the first page I knew I was going to enjoy this book, and I wasn’t disappointed.  The author has a light ‘pen’ touch and a wicked sense of… Continue reading Book Review – The Overdue Life of Amy Byler by Kelly Harms

Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review ~ The Concret Vineyard by Cam Lang

The Concrete Vineyard is a superb, slow-burning cozy, murder/mystery.  Drenched in historical memorabilia and modern-day quandaries, this is a ‘who-dun-it’ with substance.    I’ve got to start by saying I applaud the author for cleverly entwining a really great murder/mystery with the world of planning corruption and municipal politics.  The two things are women together… Continue reading Book Review ~ The Concret Vineyard by Cam Lang

Inspirational Story, Reviews

Book Review ~ It All Comes Back to You by Beth Duke

With all my different assignments, including editorial reviews, I don't get much time to read for pleasure. So, when I do, I really want it to be a great book. It All Comes Back to You, is one such book, and I'm so glad I found it. This book has given me serious writer’s envy! … Continue reading Book Review ~ It All Comes Back to You by Beth Duke

Fantasy, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Lost Girl by Chanda Hahn

A simply brilliant adaptation (modernization) of Peter Pan, 5 stars from me. Did you ever wonder what happened to Wendy, Peter, Tinkerbell and the Lost Boys and how they might fit in today’s world? This is a thoroughly modern extension to the beloved story of Peter Pan.  I often think ‘I wish authors would leave… Continue reading Book Review – Lost Girl by Chanda Hahn

Amazon, Book Clubs, Fantasy, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review ~ Spellbreaker by Charlie N Holmberg

From Wallstreet Journal & Amazon bestselling author Charlie N Holmberg, comes a great book of Victorian adventure and magic! I really enjoyed this book; it’s very well-written with superb pace, wonderful characters and a great plot.  I loved the delicate details that were just enough to firmly put you in Victorian London without bogging down… Continue reading Book Review ~ Spellbreaker by Charlie N Holmberg

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Reviews

Book Review – In the Room with Three Doors by RJ Askew

An easy, very enjoyable, poetical tale. 25 with their whole lives ahead of them, what will the three love-birds do with their triangle? Every now and again we come across a book that stands alone, this is one of them. With a soft lilt the author invites you into a modern day fable. Through the… Continue reading Book Review – In the Room with Three Doors by RJ Askew

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Last of the Moon Girls by Barbara Davis

They don’t call themselves witches… they are simply the Moon girls.  Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Now and then I come across a book I just love.  The Last of the Moon Girls is one of them.  Not only is it a fascinating story, but it is written so well, it’s like… Continue reading Book Review – The Last of the Moon Girls by Barbara Davis

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books

Book Review – Deadbreak by Jorge Sanchez

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Move over Rick Grimes, there’s a new lovable, apocalyptic zombie killing dude in town!  Jeremiah Reid is on a single-minded mission to find his daughter, hopefully she’s safe on Hawaii, but he doesn’t know for sure.  By his side is his steadfast friend, Joe the 4th who… Continue reading Book Review – Deadbreak by Jorge Sanchez

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books

Box Set Review – Little Fires Everywhere

Little Fires Everywhere - based on a book by Celeste Ng What makes a woman a mother?  Does every mother deserve to be one?  Big, big, big issues are dissected in this truly amazing story. Looking at relationships from different points of view, how daughters see their mothers. How mothers see their children.  Image is… Continue reading Box Set Review – Little Fires Everywhere

Amazon, Book Clubs, BooksGoSocial, Epic Fantasy, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Reviews, World Building

Book Review – The Crimson Deathbringer by Sean Robins

Do you think the Akakies will visit us soon? I do love a good joke. Well wow, you would not believe that this was Sean Robins first book! At the end when I read his short bio and discovered he's a teacher, that made sense - because the book, especially for a first novel, is… Continue reading Book Review – The Crimson Deathbringer by Sean Robins

Uncategorized

Book Review: Write Treatments to Sell by Ken Atchity

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing I seem to be reading such a lot at the moment, I thought I would start putting my reviews on here. So here we go... first one.  Treatments that Sell by Ken Atchity & Chi-Li Wong This is is a very thorough book, guiding you through the… Continue reading Book Review: Write Treatments to Sell by Ken Atchity