Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books

Book Review ~ The Linchpin Writer by John M Fox

When I was first asked to review this book I turned it down, I’ve been too busy, plus it’s a book on writing a novel, and I’ve already got 13 books on Amazon. However, when I was asked the second time, I thought why not? Although I’ve got books out there and more on the… Continue reading Book Review ~ The Linchpin Writer by John M Fox

Christian Fiction, contemporary romance

Book Review ~ Beach Rental by Grace Greene

Well, you can tell I’m on holiday; I’ve just finished 2 books in 3 days, a record for me! 5 out of 5 stars A beautiful, moving Christian Romance Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Have tissues ready, the middle of the book is an emotional rollercoaster, and so is the happy ending!… Continue reading Book Review ~ Beach Rental by Grace Greene

Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review ~ Altered by Jacqueline Brown

5 out of 5 stars A gripping YA dystopian novel Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Azalea Rose is no different from all the other gestates. Even though she’s been gifted a name by Mr. Northup, she’s still only a slave. She exists for one reason – to serve. We never find out… Continue reading Book Review ~ Altered by Jacqueline Brown

Indie-Authors, Reviews

Book Review ~ And Breathe by Leonora Muriel

5 out of 5 stars A character-driven classic - amazing! Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Laeticia - wounded emotionally by a cheating husband and from being raped. A mountain of injustice ferments inside her.Ivan - robbed of his company by his best friend. Imploding at the loss of control.Francis - a lover… Continue reading Book Review ~ And Breathe by Leonora Muriel

Reviews

Book Review ~ The Catch by T.M. Logan

(Part of the blurb) From the Sunday Times bestselling author of Richard & Judy Book Club pick and NETFLIX drama THE HOLIDAY, comes the perfect page-turning thriller. He caught me watching, and our eyes met. That was when it hit me.There was something not quite right about my daughter's new boyfriend . . . Image shown under the… Continue reading Book Review ~ The Catch by T.M. Logan

Fantasy

Book Review ~ The Lightning Tree by Lene Fogelberg

I enjoyed this book so much, that I practically inhaled it!  Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing The blurb starts with a statement that I thought was quite bold, but did grab my attention – for fans of Stranger Things & A History of Wild Places.  I would have to say that… Continue reading Book Review ~ The Lightning Tree by Lene Fogelberg

contemporary romance, Reviews

Book Review ~ A New Start at the Cornish Bakery by Sarah Hope

Image shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing For fans of short, sweet-romances with happy endings this is for you! Paige Walters has had a tough few years.  She broke up with her boyfriend two years ago because he was a cheat; unfortunately he had also been her boss, so she had no choice… Continue reading Book Review ~ A New Start at the Cornish Bakery by Sarah Hope

Amazon, Book Clubs, Fantasy

Book Review – Dance with the Fae Prince by Elise Kova

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Likes The stunning book cover, by Marcela Medeiros, was what drew me to this book.  It portrays both fantasy and romance and is a perfect representation of the story inside. I read so many books these days that I get excited when I find one that I… Continue reading Book Review – Dance with the Fae Prince by Elise Kova

Reviews

Book Review – Parting the Veil by Paulette Kennedy

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing A gripping, Gothic, historical romance What I loved.  Kennedy’s penmanship is exquisite.  The pose flows with ease, the pace is perfect, characters dynamic and the plot… well rather gripping!  OK, I have to say that there isn’t a plot under the sun that hasn’t already been penned… Continue reading Book Review – Parting the Veil by Paulette Kennedy

Amazon, Book Clubs, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books

Book Review – Christmas Cake Day by Juliet Brilee

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing A small town, second chance at love, festive read. If you want to curl up on the sofa and completely switch off for a few hours, then this is the Christmas read for you!  It’s light, extremely easy to read, and it’s a festive feel-good book too!… Continue reading Book Review – Christmas Cake Day by Juliet Brilee

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Chase by Josephine F Wentzel

True Life Crime - An amazing story The Chase is such a powerful book, I was in tears several times, and totally gripped by the unfolding saga. The author’s daughter, Krystal, was brutally murdered in 2016.  The bulk of this book is the author’s account of how she set about joining up with US Marshals… Continue reading Book Review – The Chase by Josephine F Wentzel

Amazon, Book Clubs, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Overdue Life of Amy Byler by Kelly Harms

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Delightful and often laugh-out-loud funny, this is a well written story that I would happily give 5 stars. From the first page I knew I was going to enjoy this book, and I wasn’t disappointed.  The author has a light ‘pen’ touch and a wicked sense of… Continue reading Book Review – The Overdue Life of Amy Byler by Kelly Harms

Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review ~ The Concret Vineyard by Cam Lang

The Concrete Vineyard is a superb, slow-burning cozy, murder/mystery.  Drenched in historical memorabilia and modern-day quandaries, this is a ‘who-dun-it’ with substance.    I’ve got to start by saying I applaud the author for cleverly entwining a really great murder/mystery with the world of planning corruption and municipal politics.  The two things are women together… Continue reading Book Review ~ The Concret Vineyard by Cam Lang

Inspirational Story, Reviews

Book Review ~ It All Comes Back to You by Beth Duke

With all my different assignments, including editorial reviews, I don't get much time to read for pleasure. So, when I do, I really want it to be a great book. It All Comes Back to You, is one such book, and I'm so glad I found it. This book has given me serious writer’s envy! … Continue reading Book Review ~ It All Comes Back to You by Beth Duke

Amazon, Book Clubs, Christian Fiction, Goodreads

Book Review – Cross-Country Christmas by Laurie Lewis

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing Cross-Country Christmas is one of the loveliest Contemporary Christian Romance novels I’ve ever read!  For readers who enjoy wholesome, sweet romances with a bit of grit and complex characters this is a perfect read. There is always more to a person than what you see, never was… Continue reading Book Review – Cross-Country Christmas by Laurie Lewis

Amazon, Book Clubs, Fantasy, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Inspired by a Russian fairy tale, The Bear & the Nightingale is a stunningly atmospheric story for lovers of myths and legends. Vasya is wild and wilful and her friends are the spirits.  In the Northern parts of darkest Russia, where the winters are long and cruel, and the summers short and full of endless… Continue reading Book Review – The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review ~ They Call me Crazy by Kelly Stone Gamble

This is a USA Today Bestselling book. Cassie is crazy, isn’t she?  She’s also killed her philandering husband, hasn’t she? Hot diggity but I loved this book! From page 1 to the end I simply couldn’t put it down.  It is by far the best book I’ve read in 2020! Set in Kansas there is… Continue reading Book Review ~ They Call me Crazy by Kelly Stone Gamble

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Reviews

Book Review – In the Room with Three Doors by RJ Askew

An easy, very enjoyable, poetical tale. 25 with their whole lives ahead of them, what will the three love-birds do with their triangle? Every now and again we come across a book that stands alone, this is one of them. With a soft lilt the author invites you into a modern day fable. Through the… Continue reading Book Review – In the Room with Three Doors by RJ Askew

Amazon, Book Clubs, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – High Heels & Mistletoe by C A King

Carol Ann King is fast becoming one of my all-time favorite indie authors for great novellas. High Heels & Mistletoe is an absolute gem of a Christmas Romance.  Julietta Romero is a bit of a Christmas Grinch with a particular intolerance towards mistletoe.  She wants nothing more than to pack her bags and jump on… Continue reading Book Review – High Heels & Mistletoe by C A King

Amazon, Book Clubs, BooksGoSocial, Goodreads, Indie-Authors, Inspirational Story, Kindle Books, Reviews

Book Review – Find Your Joy by Rosie Mankes

I wrote this 5 star review for Books Go Social Inspiring and uplifting, Find Your Joy is a truly encouraging memoir.  Learn how Rosie moves from survivor to thriver, in this positive journal-style autobiography. Rosie’s own trials are laid out in short snappy chapters, which is great for dipping in and out.  Her writing style… Continue reading Book Review – Find Your Joy by Rosie Mankes

Uncategorized

Book Review: Write Treatments to Sell by Ken Atchity

Shown under the Fair Use Act for Critiquing I seem to be reading such a lot at the moment, I thought I would start putting my reviews on here. So here we go... first one.  Treatments that Sell by Ken Atchity & Chi-Li Wong This is is a very thorough book, guiding you through the… Continue reading Book Review: Write Treatments to Sell by Ken Atchity